“Manage Your Spending on the Go”

A friend of mine always says, “There’s an app for just about everything.” And when I went looking for an app to help my husband and me with budgeting, I found plenty! Planning and tracking your spending can be done efficiently, quickly and on-the-go. An app that’s convenient makes it more likely that I’ll use it, too.

Every month I try to save receipts, track and organize my spending, and review my bank statements. I even try to use the “envelope” approach to organizing my spending. But honestly, these steps don’t happen consistently. There are some months when I find myself checking my account balance to see how much I have left to spend instead of trying to figure out how much I’ve already spent and what I spent it on.

Working with the tide instead of against it – think “on-the-go” – I decided to research saving and spending apps that can be used on my phone and can sync with my husband’s phone. We use iPhones, but there are budgeting apps for just about any device. With so many to choose from, how do we choose the right one for us?

First, I figured I’d ask around to see who’s using a budgeting app and what their experience has been. Word of mouth is often a good way to find a trustworthy product.

Then, with a list of recommendations in hand, I’ll do my research. There are many articles online that offer opinions and performance details. I’ve included a couple of them below. I’m planning to cross-check my list with trusted website sites and resources. How can you tell if a site is trustworthy? Start with familiar sites, or sites recommended by someone you trust, and carefully read everything, including the small print. Also, check to see that article dates are current. For help in evaluating websites, check out www.whoishostingthis.com/resources/credible-sources.

Finally, I’ve put together my list of budgeting apps to review. Now it’s time for us to decide!

You can get started, too! Check out the links below and ask for recommendations. Why not start managing your spending on-the-go?

https://www.dailyworth.com/best-budgeting-apps-and-spending-trackers

http://www.thesimpledollar.com/how-to-use-technology-to-start-saving-more/

Leave a Reply

