An Examined Financial Life

We’ve all heard the saying, “You can tell what a person values by what they buy.” Have you ever given this consideration and focus when it comes to your financial health? I really haven’t until now, as I’m currently facing a looming IRS bill and a serious “want” to fill my “hill” in the backyard with flowers. Of course, being responsible and paying my bills on time is a value of mine; this goes without question. But, what could be questioned is my apparent value of flowers and whether they are truly a necessity.
The good ol’ wants vs. needs conundrum. Mind you, for the past 5 years I’ve tried to fill this hill on my own, and let’s just say there’s not a landscaper in the state that would hire me. So you get my point? This is actually becoming a need. Looking out my windows into that colorless abyss has become draining and the investment I can make in the “hill” will bring joy and energy. Joy is an important component to health, and it is my thought that with joy an increase in energy and productivity is inevitable. In my opinion, energy and productivity results in motivation to move ahead with a variety of life goals. I consider the flowers on the hill to be a motivational purchase. It becomes the incentive I need to increase my levels of energy and productivity, which is of great value to me.
Productivity is never an accident. It is always the result of a commitment to excellence, intelligent planning, and focused effort. — Paul J. Meyer

Therefore, I’m planning to review my budget and make a commitment to cut out extras, like take-out dinner and drive through coffee, in order to  on paying for both the IRS bill and the “hill.” What do you value? Where does your money go? Here at Find Financial Freedom we challenge you to plan, commit, and focus on the benefits of money management, so you can make money choices that reflect your values and goals.

Leave a Reply

